Wayward Publishing »

Reviews for the Light Behind Blue Circles

 

 

Wonderful adventure story with great characters, November 1, 2013

By CJ Wilmer – 5.0 out of 5 stars 

From the very first scene right through the very last page, The Light Behind Blue Circles takes the reader on an incredible journey through a mysterious land. DeMayo’s eloquent writing and detailed descriptions made me feel like I was right there on the African continent experiencing this adventure first hand. The story is intriguing and the characters are likable and fascinating – both the main ones and the array of secondary characters that are met along the way. The plot’s suspense kept me turning pages and the interwoven stories of family, personal struggle, and relationships give it a deep emotional complexity. Peter’s journey of growth and self-discovery is both touching and inspiring. The author’s own experiences of travel in Africa are conveyed through the intimate details and familiarity in his descriptions. I have always dreamed of travelling to Africa and The Light Behind Blue Circles makes me feel like I already have!

 

 

A real page turner, August 14, 2013

By Sedona Dundee – 4.0 out of 5 stars 

Once the plot was set, this story became a real page turner. Several times I laughed out loud. I enjoyed the virtual tour around the southeastern African continent and the descriptive way it was done. There’s some mature language in the book.
I look forward to my next read from Robert Louis DeMayo.

 

 

Fantastic Story & Great Read, July 24, 2013

By Liz Stevens (Mule Creek, NM United States) – 5.0 out of 5 stars 

Just finished The Light Behind Blue Circles and I loved it! I could not put it down. The story combines coming of age, travelogue, history, romance, and a little bit of a mystery along with some magic to take the reader on a journey across the African continent that you won’t soon forget! The characters are quirky and interesting, the settings lushly detailed. The culture and peoples of Africa come alive. Makes me want to pack up and head to Africa for my own sojourn. Wonderfully written and I highly recommend you read this book and share it with a friend(s). Thanks Rob, for a great story!!!

 

 

A Great Coming of Age Story, July 5, 2013

By lynnd – 4.0 out of 5 stars – Amazon Verified Purchase

After reading DeMayo’s ‘The Making of Theodore Roosevelt’ made me think about the possibilities of going backpacking again, I knew his writing could cut deep and make me think. His skill at blending historical research and detail with poetic license aroused my curiosity about ‘Blue Circles,’ which would seem to be based more on his own experiences. For all of us who never took that year off from schooling to travel the world, this story captures the spirit of the open road and the multitude of characters that await. Peter’s journey forces him to confront his inner struggle, and DeMayo does a nice job of weaving together the threads of the story into a wonderful tapestry.

 

 

MAGICAL JOURNEY, June 22, 2013

By gayle pace “May A Rainbow Shine Down On You!” (Missouri) – 5.0 out of 5 stars 

REVIEW: I found this book to be an enjoyable and wonderful read The adventure is a humorous and scary journey through Africa. The author definitely did a lot of research about the Maasai people in East Africa. This is quite a page turner for not only young readers but readers of any age. The author puts a lot of historical fact, a little wonderment, and a lot of adventure into this wonderful story. The beginning is Peter with his father on safari in the Serengeti. Peter goes through life changing events. A few years later we meet up with Peter to solve the mystery of the light behind the blue circles. I found that if you look with open eyes you will find that the people and places have a beauty about them. I feel this should be read by all. A wonderful story that allows you to embark on a journey to Africa by the way of the book and your imagination. An informative, descriptive, adventurous magical read. Don’t miss out on this one. It may be your only chance to travel to Africa.
I would give this book 4.5 STARS. I received a complimentary copy of the book, from the author Robert Louis DeMayo for this unbiased review.

 

 

Wonderful read, May 28, 2013

By Penelope Bodry-Sanders (New York, NY USA) – 4.0 out of 5 stars 

(Kindle Edition)

I really enjoyed this book. It is an adventure tale that blends contemporary sensibilities with traditional tribal values. Besides being a romp through Africa – both riotous and scary – I especially enjoyed the author’s ethnographic tidbits and history about the Maasai people in East Africa. He clearly conducted a lot of background research which adds a fascinating dimension to the narrative. A magical thread weaves the tale together creating a page-turner especially for young readers. It would make a marvelous film.

 

 

 

Great story, highly recommend, May 25, 2013

By Lynn Perry (New England) – 5.0 out of 5 stars – Amazon Verified Purchase

 The story of Peter and the Maasai people weaves mysticism, adventure, and historical fact into a compelling tale. It begins when Peter is a child on safari in the Serengeti with his father, a veterinarian for the parks. A turn of events changes his life and his disposition, and we catch up with Peter a few years later to continue to solve the mystery of the light behind blue circles. Along the way we even learn a thing or two about the stark beauty of this harsh landscape and its people.

 

 

Loved this book, January 27, 2013

By Mike and Sherri O’Neil (St. John, VI United States) – 5.0 out of 5 stars 

This book took me to another place while I was reading it. The imagery and place descriptions were vivid and saturating. It’s a coming of age story about Lekai, a Maasai warrior and Peter, a South African boy. The story is imbibed with deep metaphor and meaning, but you’ll just have to read it yourself to find out…. I highly recommend that you do.

 

 

Don’t miss this one!!!, January 26, 2013

By M*Shaw – 5.0 out of 5 stars 

This book is a must read for all. A terrific story that gave me the opportunity to “travel” to Africa through the pages as I read it. A descriptive and mystical journey that kept me enthralled until the end.

 

 

Excellent mystical traveller’s tale.December 13, 2012

By Sally Douglas – 5.0 out of 5 stars – Amazon Verified Purchase

This was a fantastic read. I enjoyed the many aspects of self discovery and awakening that the main character uncovered within. The pace of the book made it hard to put down and the travel aspect was excellent. I highly recommend it.

 

Light behind blue circles, December 15, 2013

By rebecca stoneking (ottawa, ks) – 4.0 out of 5 stars 

The Light Behind Blue Circles by Robert Louis DeMayo is a great novel for young men and boys though I enjoyed it also. The story is set in 1983 Africa and 1993 Africa. In 1983 Peter, who is a 13 year old boy with his father a veterinarian in Africa studying poaching. This was their first trip together since Peter’s mother’s death. Peter was out exploring one morning before his father, Simon had awakened. Peter meets a young Maasai (warrior) named Lekai who is training to be the new tribal seer/doctor. Times are changing in Africa. Apartheid is not being embraced by all living in Africa–most especially not embraced by Conrad, also known as Red Beret, who has been recklessly running around drinking and killing animals and black Africans just for fun. Lekai and Peter form an immediate bond and Lekai convinces Simon and Peter to help him save his friend who was a rhino from death. On the trip out the trio meet up with Conrad who kills not only the rhino and other animals but also Lekai. Lekai gives Peter his bag of little stones with which he tells the future by letting the stones flow through his fingers. Peter keeps those stones with him always as one of his treasures. The story following is how Peter deals with the guilt of blaming himself for the death of Lekai. Peter learns what Lekai meant when he said to him one day, “The deeds of one’s life are greater than the facts of his birth.” For tens years Peter is plagued with dreams of Lekai and visits from Lekai even when he is awake. When Peter hears of his father’s death, Peter embarks on a mystical trip through Africa to return to the village of Lekai to tell the old seer of how Lekai died.
I enjoyed this book and it would be a good book for boys-coming of age. It kind of has a little of the Mark Twain flavor. I hope that this book is all fiction because in one of the life threatening encounters of Land Cruiser vs. elephant I was laughing so hard that I hope it did not have any connections to a real event. It is an action packed boy’s book.

 

Awesome Book! January 15, 2013

By Heidi – 5.0 out of 5 stars  – This book is a great read! An adventure story with a soul. The character interactions are interesting and feel real. Mr. DeMayo’s descriptions of the land and the people brought it alive for me, I could almost smell the dust and moisture in the air. This is not a typical adventure story in that it’s not just about the mystery and the search for something material but it’s also about the main character’s search for his right place in the world. I highly recommend picking this up.

 

Beautiful! January 22, 2013

By Andrew D. Holman – 5.0 out of 5 stars – This book is now the sole reason why I must explore Africa. Such a great story and vivid portrayal of the life of a traveller. I cannot wait for more from this author.

 

Light up your world, January 19, 2013

By Shay Douglas – 5.0 out of 5 stars – Great travelers book. I read this fantastic book, whilst embarking on my own journey and once I picked it up I couldn’t put it down; I had to keep reading. Beautiful story line and description of the majestic countryside of Africa. Loved the stolen Dreamtime shirt at the end. Highly recommend it!

 

Behind the Light, January 16, 2013

By Southpaw – 5.0 out of 5 stars – What an honor to illustrate the Cover Art for this terrific book! A young man’s epic journey through the beautifully described African landscape. The author’s words immures the reader with all the sensory experiences of this magical land, culture, and characters! So believable! Discover a side of Africa you never knew, as an insider. The adventure, mystery, and intrigue never stops and with every sunrise a new one begins! Start your journey by getting this book!

 

Outstanding read!, January 16, 2013

By Windinghill – 5.0 out of 5 stars – A great read — and a FUN read. It doesn’t matter whether you’ve travelled to Africa, the storyline will draw you in and take you there. Reading it on an airplane, I burst out laughing at times…much to the concern of other travellers. Congratulations on a wonderful story!

 

A Must Read!, January 16, 2013

By K.Tut – 5.0 out of 5 stars – Amazon Verified Purchase – I very much enjoyed reading The light Behind Blue Circles”. Having been to Africa this book brought back some vivid memories. I loved the scene at Victoria Falls and the trek through the African bush. A great adventure.

 

Great read!, January 15, 2013

By Tulane – 5.0 out of 5 stars – The Light Behind Blue Circles is an exciting and quick paced read that will please anyone that loves an adventure! Unique, mysterious, and simply entertaining.

 

Great read! December 30, 2012

By Vi – 5.0 out of 5 stars – I am loving this cover! After reading the book the picture brings it to life! Having never traveled to Africa you have taken me there. Great story…couldn’t put it down!

 

Read it! November 22, 2012

By  Jshaej – 5.0 out of 5 stars – This book is unlike any other. An interesting glimpse into a world unknown. A very unique ghost story that will haunt you long after you finish! Read it!

Share on FacebookTweet this PostPin Images to PinterestBack to Top