Wayward Publishing »

Reviews for The Making of Theodore Roosevelt


Outstanding Historical Novel, December 5, 2013

By Richard A. Danko – 5.0 out of 5 stars – Amazon Verified Purchase

An outstanding example of a Historical Novel, written in a way that was both interesting and easy to read. I knew very little about Theodore Roosevelt before reading this book. Now – I love him, and wish we had politicians like him today. Many thanks to Robert DeMayo for researching Northern Maine, and writing this book. Richard

  

The Making of Theodore Roosevelt (Paperback), October 14, 2013

By Kristi Brannen – 4.0 out of 5 stars – Amazon Verified Purchase

The receiver enjoyed it. Teddy Roosevelt had ties to this area and families here. Receiver loves history and learning more about the man who visited our area.

 

A YOUNG THEODORE ROOSEVELT, August 13, 2013

By Gayle Pace “May A Rainbow Shine Down On You!” (Missouri) – “THE MAKING OF THEODORE ROOSEVELT is an account of the early journeys of Teddy Roosevelt. The setting is in the northern woods of Maine in 1878. Mr. DeMayo has presented a vivid outlook on the hardships that the wilds of Maine can present. The author takes you along on the journeys as you see the change of the well known historic figure. Mr. DeMayo shows you a side of Theodore Roosevelt that isn’t usually written about. The young Roosevelt and his adventures to the Maine wilds. Here is where he learned about the woods. The book is well written. Even though it is a historical fiction read, there is a lot to be learned as the book is not only interesting but educational. I feel the book will be of interest to the young and the young at heart. It is truly a book that I want to keep on my shelf and re-read. The author brings the past to us as we journey with Teddy on his adventures. I liked that the book was not too fast paced. It allowed you to take it all in and picture everything in your mind.. This book may be a fictional account but it seems so real in every aspect. Wonderful writing to be able to take fiction and make it seem real. One great historical, interesting and educational read.

I would give this book 5 STARS. I was given a complimentary copy of THE MAKING OF THEODORE ROOSEVELT from the author, Robert Louis DeMayo for my honest view. The cover deserves a 5 STARS too.”

 

Roosevelt Review, June 24, 2013 – 4.0 out of 5 stars

By Rebecca Stoneking (ottawa, ks) – “Theodore Roosevelt is one of my favorite presidents. I had always thought his zest for life and go-get’em attitude was just the way he was. I guess I was wrong. “The making of Theodore Roosevelt” by Robert Louis DeMayo is a novel based on true to life events that tells the story of how Teddy went from being the snooty, wimpy, know-it-all to being the man we all know and love. DeMayo follows Roosevelt from New York into the woods of Maine where he learned to care for himself and be a man. His guide, Bill, and Bill’s nephew Wilmot, take in Roosevelt and his two cousins to fish, hunt, and be manly. Theodore keeps coming back. He learned he was in his element. An element he never knew existed.

This book not only introduces the reader to the making of Roosevelt, but it also gives the reader and pleasant look at 19th Century Maine and the ways of living in the rough during those times. At times I couldn’t figure out why they were doing stuff; it sounded to me like a good way to die, but the men in the story found it to be a grand adventure. I would think men would get more from reading this novel, simply because they would understand the whole do or die thing better. The book is well written and well researched. I wish the author had gotten inside Theodore’s head a little more. That is a personal preference. I would give it a B+. I received this book for free from the author through the author.”

 

Loved this book!, March 25, 2013 – 5.0 out of 5 stars

By Emily (IN, United States) – “I loved this book! It made Teddy Roosevelt less of a historical figure and more of a real person for me. I know that it is a fictionalized account of a time in his life, but, sometimes, that is necessary to move past the facts and figures to find the real person underneath.”

 

~*~ Loved this book~*~, March 25, 2013 – 5.0 out of 5 stars

By Sue M. – “This story had me captivated right from the first chapter. Although this is a book about a historical figure, even those who do not like history will enjoy reading this. Although the main character was a former U.S. President, it is not political. Even those who loathe politics will love this book. The writer is able to take the reader on a journey through the wilderness of Maine, experiencing the weather, smelling the aromas of the forests, seeing the animals and enjoying the adventure as though you were right there alongside the characters. This story can easily be read by young and old alike and be enjoyable for any age group. One would never know that portions of this story are a fictional and not purely biographical. Outstanding writing. I highly recommend this book!”

 

The Making of Theodore Roosevelt, March 22, 2013 – 4.0 out of 5 stars

By Charlie – “I found it hard to believe this is a work of fiction. It seems so real to me and I learned a lot about Theodore Roosevelt. The description of the adventure to Mt. Katahdin was accurate as I have hiked that mountain including the knife edge although be it from a parking lot at the base of the mountain and returning to my car the same day! I highly recommend this book for anyone of any age. A bonus for me is that there is no bad language or sex scenes that seem to be so prevalent in today’s novels.”

 

Captivating Read., December 5, 2012 – 5.0 out of 5 stars

By Sally Douglas – ” I found the Making of Theodore Roosevelt very captivating and was intrigued as the character of Roosevelt was explored. It left me with a deeper understanding of the formatively years and a greater respect for the man he became. It was a joy to read thank you Robert for the research and knowledge you have shared with us.”

 

A Great Read!, October 29, 2012 – 5.0 out of 5 stars

By lynnd – “This book ably captures the juxtaposition of Roosevelt’s high society background with his need to challenge and prove himself against the wild north woods, which had captured his imagination. After the death of his father, a young Roosevelt finds a mentor in Bill Sewall, who gradually reveals the challenges of survival to him. It is the story of a young man seeking to develop his own character. It will have you yearning to take up a pack and head into the woods.”

 

A must read for T.R. fans, October 16, 2012 – 5.0 out of 5 stars

By D.DeMayo – “The story of young Theodore Roosevelt captured me from the very beginning. I enjoyed learning about young T.R’s early adventures in the deep woods of Maine. Now I have even more admiration for who the man became in his later years. Great book! A must read.”

 

Interesting and Entertaining, September 30, 2012 – 5.0 out of 5 stars

By Kate119 – “This book explores an aspect of Theodore Roosevelt’s life that is not usually addressed when it comes to information regarding this president. Although this is a fictionalized story, DeMayo perfectly presents the essence of a young Roosevelt. The story is based on local recollections of Roosevelt’s visits to the wilds of Maine where he learned the ways of the woods. DeMayo seamlessly captures the local vernacular and paints an accurate picture of the time in which the story is set. The story is an enjoyable read that is appropriate for young adults as well as adults.”

  

Authentic Maine Descriptions, September 11, 2012 – 5.0 out of 5 stars

By Ronald DeMayo “ronld” (new hampshire usa) – “I enjoyed the novel very much. I own land in Island Falls, Maine and found the book to be very correct in the descriptions of Maine hunting and the indigenous language of the area. I am an admirer of Teddy Roosevelt and have learned facts about him that I did not know. I recommend this book to anyone who likes northern Maine and its people.”

 

Nice read for young adventurers by Penelope Bodry-Sanders

Sept. 5, 2012 – In a time when so many young people lack the experience of living in nature guided by strong mentors, Robert DeMayo has written an atmospheric tale of adventure and transformation that illustrates for young readers what they are missing. This is a small but well-researched story that examines the relationship between Theodore Roosevelt and William Sewall, a brilliant naturalist and TR’s guide, during the future president’s youth in Maine’s wilderness. As the relationship deepens over several years we see its influence on TR as he grows from a sickly and bit of a spoiled young patriarch to the mature and measured man who would become one of our greatest environmental conservationists.

 

If you love the northern Maine woods…. by justl

Aug. 6, 2012 – This book is historical fiction; some of the characters are real, others are based on the author’s imagination. The vivid descriptions of the various seasons in Aroostook County and the life of the guides and loggers are very well done. The author ably brings to life such Maine events as the seemingly incessant accumulations of ice and snow, winter’s biting cold, summer’s biting flies, the delicacy known as bean hole beans, diverse wildlife, rugged camp life, hazardous river navigation, etc. The evolution of Theodore Roosevelt from a sickly young man to a self-confident adult is well handled. The repartee between TR and his guide, Bill Sewall, swapping quotes from Longfellow and other literary giants as well as TR receiving wise counsel from the veteran woodsman during their many hours together in the outdoors, is inspiring. Scenes from TR’s days as a student at Harvard and his relentless courtship of Alice Hathaway Lee, round out the book. TR was exposed to an education not available in Cambridge and, to his great credit, he immersed himself in it. The Making of Theodore Roosevelt is a good read for adults and is also suitable for younger readers.

 

Great book by M*Shaw

Sept. 4, 2012 – Simply put, this is a great read for just about anyone. In my family, everyone liked reading this; boy, girl, old, or young, it had something in it for all of us. It has history for the history buff and for those of us who aren’t so much into history it has a captivating story as well. It’s well written, has great details and I loved it.

 

Authentic Maine Descriptions by ronld

Sept. 11, 2012 – I enjoyed the novel very much. I own land in Island Falls, Maine and found the book to be very correct in the descriptions of Maine hunting and the indigenous language of the area. I am an admirer of Teddy Roosevelt and have learned facts about him that I did not know. I recommend this book to anyone who likes northern Maine and its people.

 

Wonderful Adventurous Read!  by J. Wesley

Sept. 5, 2012 – This is a beautifully written book about one of our country’s most pioneering presidents. It gives the reader a glimpse into Teddy Roosevelt’s formative years and insight into how he became such a visionary leader. I highly recommend this book and can hardly wait to share it with my son.

 

A must read for all Teddy Roosevelt fans bMike and Sherri O’Neil

Sept. 5, 2012 – This book explores the history of the young Teddy Roosevelt before he really makes a splash on the nation’s radar. DeMayo creates a world of down home characters that help cultivate the young Roosevelt as he travels and matures in a New England that has come and gone. Both the individuals, culture and rich history of the area are presented with care and draw you into the period. Robert provides insight into the development of one of America’s greatest leaders through engaging narrative. A must read for all Teddy Roosevelt fans.

 

North Maine Woods Adventure by Rod

Sept. 4, 2012 – Robert DeMayo has presented the reader with a vivid look at the hardships to be endured in the North Maine Woods during the long winters. This book is very educational and entertaining I recommended it to anyone who is interested in reading about history and outdoor adventure.

 

The Making of Theodore Roosevelt by Robert Louis DeMayo by Angela

Dec. 13, 2011 – I highly recommend this title to anyone eager to delve deeper into the ardent character and life of Theodore Roosevelt. An action-packed wild wood adventure awaits you. Enjoy!

 

 Engaging read for studentsby K.Tut

June 13, 2012 – This book would be a nice choice for those looking for an engaging read for students. Descriptive outdoor adventure stories backed with the knowledge of the history of the time. Educational and humorous… I enjoyed it very much.

 

 Refreshing and Insightfulby Tulane

June 13, 2012 -The Making of Theodore Roosevelt takes a refreshing and insightful look at the early adventures of T.R. Set in 1878 in the northern woods of Maine, DeMayo, skillfully takes readers on a series of journeys enabling them to witness the transformation of the well known historical figure.

 

 The US Review of Books

This was a truly enjoyable read, a jam-packed adventure full of logging camp humor, canoe trips, hunting, and buckboard rides, not just for Roosevelt fans but for anyone who loves and appreciates tales of unspoiled nature at its wildest.

 

 

 

Share on FacebookTweet this PostPin Images to PinterestBack to Top